HLC Criteria for Accreditation

New accreditation criteria were adopted by the HLC in 2012 and were fully implemented in January 2013.   The five accreditation criteria include:

Criterion One


The institution’s mission is clear and articulated publicly; it guides the institution’s operations.

Criterion Two

Integrity:  Ethical and Responsible Conduct

The institution acts with integrity; its conduct is ethical and responsible.

Criterion Three

Teaching and Learning:  Quality, Resources, and Support

The institution provides high quality education, wherever and however its offering are delivered. 

Criterion Four

Teaching and Learning:  Evaluation and Improvement

The institution demonstrates responsibility for the quality of its educational programs, learning environments, and support services, and it evaluates their effectiveness for student learning through processes designed to promote continuous improvement.

Criterion Five

Resources, Planning, and Institutional Effectiveness

The institution’s resources, structures, and processes are sufficient to fulfill its mission, improve the quality of its educational offerings, and to respond to future challenges and opportunities